My Philosophy: Challenge Thyself

The bulk of my philosophy combines two schools of thought: Nietzsche’s Übermensch and Frankl’s “Will to Meaning“. I’ll tackle the second first: Viktor Frankl, a 20th century psychiatrist, developed the concept of the Will to Meaning as the conceptual framework behind logotherapy. The basic idea is that the main driving force behind human endeavor is not the will to power (as Nietzsche contended), nor is it the will to pleasure (as Freud believed). Rather, it is the need to feel needed, so to speak: the deep, abiding desire to have a purpose in life. This ties in nicely with Nietzsche’s concept of the constantly evolving person, or Übermensch: The Übermensch is a person with constantly evolving values due to constant self-reflection, necessary in a rapidly changing world if one’s values are to continue being of use. Taken together, I believe the best way to better ourselves as people is to cultivate a drive to find meaning in life structured on values which are constantly updated to fit the world we live in.

Related reading: Key Concepts of the Philosophy of Friedrich Nietzsche

2 Comments

  1. Maria Wolf said,

    May 28, 2014 at 4:27 am

    I totally love this! My friend Erica is studying Philosophy & Neuroscience, and just studied both of these works. I’m a huge fan of Logotherapy & Frankl, as well as Ubermensch. I had never encountered either of these exact philosophies (spelled out as such) until recently. But both themes have played a huge role in my life since I was about 19.

    Like

    • Tyro said,

      May 28, 2014 at 4:34 am

      My own story is very similar. I’ve been working on my personal philosophy for as long as I can remember, often developing classic concepts without knowing what they were called in academic circles until much later. I only discovered Frankl a few months ago, but the Will to Meaning really makes sense to me.

      Like


Leave a Reply

